So, if Afrofuturism is a strategy for critiquing colonialism and racism, and Solarpunk is a strategy for critiquing extractive capitalism and enviromental degradation, then what does it mean for us to create art in these styles and share it on social media?

Well, it is important because it's a reminder that these "aesthetics" are created communaly, rather than top-down or in a centralized manner.

Maybe you could say that trends in social media lower the barrier to engaging in an art culture or art dialogue, for example, making edits.

But this might be prejudice, because I've never made edits and I feel like I'm predisposed to think of them as less original than something like drawing or writing. But, interpretation is generative. I saw that in a webcomic, but I can't remember where.

So, here I come to the beginning of my essay. Aesthetics can be used to critique aspects of the world. (cite.) For example,

ok I'm taking a break to look up bauhaus.

OK so it seems like they were trying to do something big. But were they actually working to critique aspects of society?

The best way I can understand this question might be through the Black Panthers rather than through that philosophy book.